Archive for March 29, 2012

Favorite Yarn Stores

One of my favorite places to shop for yarn is “The Wool Company”.           A New Zealand owned company.Image

I shop online with them. I am on their mailing list.

You can find them here   www.thewoolcompany.co.nz

They sell a lovely range of yarns, Merino clothing and Merino babywear.

The yarns are beautiful. The wool is 100% Merino. Its available in 2ply white or cream and baby 3 ply in a range of lovely soft colors. The yardage is 600 mtrs in a 2ply ball of 100grms, and 500 mtrs in a 100 grm ball of 3ply baby yarn. Now thats great yardage.

Then there is 4ply baby yarn. Its 350mtrs in a 100 grm ball. A great range of colors.

And Merino Possum 8ply !!  lovely and incredibly soft, and a good color range.

The Corriedale DK yarn comes in 28 different colors.380 mtrs per 200grams.

Naturals Range is great for aran knitting. There are 5 colors , ranging from cream to charcoal.

Then the FANTASTIC multi colors. There are 10 colorways in this range. I have knit some lovely childrens jumpers in this yarn. Soft and hard wearing. The colors are akin to sock colorways which is such a nice change from the usual muti colors that are sold in most yarn stores.

My favorite in this latest brochure is “Faberge” . Its a Cyclamen/Graphite/Prussian mix. Just beautiful.

I havent been in person to their shop in Taihape. I have only bought online. But my husband went in on a recent trip down the North Island. He was stuck for which yarns to buy for me ( isnt that lovely). So the staff went online and looked at the yarns I had previously bought, and the ones I had listed as favorites, and he bought from that choice. Now you can’t get better staff than that !!!

I highly reccomend that you take a look at their yarns online. I have bought in bulk from them and the delivery is as quick and painfree as ordering 1 ball.

Great site to spend a little time in.

What are your favorite online stores for knitting yarn??

Let me know, I would love to have a look at them too.Image

Image

Leave a comment »